top of page

Minimum Standards

Entry level qualifications ensure that those entering the career development profession have the appropriate career development-specific skills, knowledge and competencies to undertake work in the career development field.  


The minimum qualifications required to be recognized are :

Professional Career Development Practitioner 

  • An approved /recognised Bachelor degree or Vocational Graduate Certificate or Postgraduate Diploma or Master degree

  • Plus atleast 5 years of relevant or closely related work experience

 Associate Career Development Practitioner

  • An endorsed certification as above and

  • Atleast 2 years skilled work experience


An alternative pathway to both Professional and Associate status as may be approved on a case by case basis by the National Executive Committee in line with Policy and Procedures developed by the Council.


Recognition of Prior Learning

(RPL) is the ‘acknowledgement of a person’s skills and  knowledge acquired through  previous training, work or life experiences which may be used to grant status or credit in a subject or module. Prior learning, experience and competencies may be assessed at either the professional or associate career development practitioner level by a relevant training provider or educational institution and not by the Council.



  • Facebook Black Round
  • LinkedIn Black Round
  • Tumblr Black Round
bottom of page